SSA 12&U: Four teams in finals race
Date of Event Cricket Australia State Competitions: Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:24AM
QLD 12 & Under Girls team celebrate a wicket // James Worsfold

Some of Australia’s most exciting juniors will compete for national honours during today’s School Sport Australia 12 years and under Cricket Championships – Grand Finals.


ACT will meet Victoria in the boys’ grand final, while NSW will go head-to-head with Queensland for the girls’ national championship title.


In the boys’ competition, eight teams competed across two pools with the hosts Western Australia entering two squads into the championships.


Victoria and NSW sat atop their respective pool tables after three rounds, each undefeated and five points clear of second place.


In the semi-finals, Victoria (6/177) def Western Australia #1 (141) to continue their unbeaten run. Victoria’s Braydon O’Connor scored the greatest individual batting total for the championships with 85 runs from 139 balls, and Aanlin Cherran took three wickets from his eight overs to help his side to victory.


ACT chased down the undefeated NSW squad’s total of 174 in the 48th over in what was a thrilling contest to secure their spot in the boys’ grand final.


The girls’ competition this year has been of the highest quality. The introduction of Representative Stage 2 Junior Formats has seen a reduction in pitch length and boundary size which has resulted in more free-flowing cricket being played.


Final placings saw NSW finish with five-from-five whilst Queensland placed second only losing to NSW in the final round game, 144-128.


All finals fixtures will be played on Wednesday 19th December, with grand finals being live streamed via and the School Sport Australia Facebook page.




  • GRAND FINAL: ACT v VIC | For 1st v 2nd @ Recreation Ground | 50 over match.
  • PLACING FINAL 1: NSW v WA #1 | For 3rd v 4th @ Hay Park East | 50 over match.
  • PLACING FINAL 2: SA v WA #2 | For 5th v 6th @ Forrest Park North | 50 over match.
  • PLACING FINAL 3: NT v QLD | For 7th v 8th @ Leschenault Recreation Reserve| 50 over match.



  • GRAND FINAL: NSW v QLD | 1st v 2nd @ Grammar Turf | 30 over match.
  • PLACING FINAL 1: VIC v SA | 3rd v 4th @ Hay Park West | 30 over match.
  • PLACING FINAL 2: ACT v WA | 5th v 6th @ Forrest Park East | 30 over match.


Grand Final Team Summaries


Victoria are coached by veteran David Gallacher, who has decided to make this year’s championships his last as head coach after 10 years in the top job. Brad Falkenberg has been at the helm of the ACT boys team and has done an outstanding job supporting the players right through to the final game of the championship.



  • Victoria (170) def Queensland (127) in a thrilling game with Archie Flynn making 57 opening the batting, which was the highest runs scored in that game.
  • ACT (178) def Western Australia #2 (144) in another amazing match with 49 runs scored by Raakin Rahman.


  • Victoria (193) def Western Australia #2 (69) with the top score for that game Archie Lalor making 36 batting third for Victoria.
  • ACT (2/226) def Queensland (158) with the top scorer from that game being Raakin Rahman making a massive 71 for his team to help them make 226.


  • Victoria (8/126) def ACT (125) on a wet wicket due to rainfall the night before. Archie Flynn and Braydon O’Connor both top-scored, making 23 apiece. ACT’s Jake Smith top scored for his team with 21 runs.



NSW are coached by Stephen Costello and managed by Belinda Allard, whilst Michael Hutchinson (Coach) and Tricia Agnew (Manager) have supported the Queensland outfit throughout the championships.  



  • Queensland (3/85) def South Australia (9/84) – South Australia’s Elizabeth Worthley was the team’s top-scorer, making 37 not out.
  • NSW (6/103) def Victoria (75), with NSW’s Kate Pelle top-scoring with 24 runs.



  • NSW (0/60) def Australian Capital Territory (9/59).
  • Queensland (6/68) def Victoria (3/67) – Victoria’s highest run scorer was Vaishanavi Munukutla who scored 28 not-out.



  • NSW (4/127) def Western Australia (8/76) with Lucy Finn making 51 not-out for NSW.
  • Queensland (3/159) def ACT (8/72) with top scorer of the game going to Lucy Hamilton making a massive 70 runs for her state.



  • NSW (6/144) def South Australia (9/91) with the top scorer from this game being Kaitlin Logan (43 runs).
  • Queensland (9/210) def Western Australia (8/109) – South Australia’s Holly Appleby scpred 46 runs.



  • NSW (6/144) def Queensland (8/128), with NSW player Kate Pelle high-scoring making 53 the top scorer from this game being for her state New South Wales.

Last updated: Wednesday December 19, 2018 11:27AM
Author: Vanessa Lewicki