Aus U16s start Dubai tour with a win
Date of Event : Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:00PM
The Australian Under 16s started their series against Pakistan with a win.

The Australian Under 16s have started their six-game series against Pakistan Under 16s in Dubai in perfect fashion, notching a four-wicket win at the ICC Academy.


Australian skipper Mackenzie Harvey won the toss and elected to bowl first in the one-day fixture.


Jordan Clark picked up an early breakthrough, but from there the hosts took charge on a good batting wicket.


Opener Zaid Khan (59) and first-drop Taha Mehmood (110) capitalised, while a cameo of 30 from Mohammad Taha saw Pakistan sitting comfortably after 40 overs at 3-224.



From there, the Australians produced a strong final 10 overs, conceding only 54 runs and picking up six wickets.



Liam Marshall collected three, finishing with figures of 3-34 off nine overs, while leg-spinner Josh Hoffmann claimed 2-46 from eight overs.



In reply, the Australians got off to a strong start through openers Connor Smith and Liam Scott.



Smith (42 off 84 balls) was the rock at one end, while Liam Scott (35) and Mackenzie Harvey (22) kept the scoreboard ticking over at the other end.



However, when Smith fell with the score at 3-112, the match was well and truly in the balance.



Hoffmann and Ollie Davies then ensured it tilted back in the Australians’ favour, producing a 90-run partnership for the fourth wicket in less than 10 overs.



Davies (46 off 33) and Hoffmann (66 off 43) fell in quick succession, but contributions from Damien Burrage (19), keeper Lawson Eva (23 not out) and Clark (10 not out) saw the Australians home with eight balls to spare.



There are two more one-day matches in the series, followed by three Twenty20s.



Scores in brief

Pakistan U16s 9-278cc off 50 overs (T. Mehmood 110, Z. Khan 59, L. Marshall 3-34, J. Hoffmann 2-46) def by Australian U16s 6-281 off 48.2 overs (J. Hoffmann 64, O. Davies 46, C. Smith 42, M. Mumtaz 3-57, N. Shah 2-62)



Australian under-16s

Squad: Liam Scott (NSW), Oliver Davies (NSW), Lawson Eva (NSW), Liam Marshall (NSW), Tyson Lee (NSW), Mackenzie Harvey (VIC, c), Zane Keighran (VIC), Connor Smith (WA), Jordan Clark (WA), Damien Burrage (WA), Connor Sully (QLD), Josh Hoffmann (SA), Angus Judd (SA). Coach: Gavan Twining. Assistant Coach: Stuart Law.



Matches (all at ICC Academy in Dubai)

January 9 - 1st One-Day Match

January 11 - 2nd One-Day Match

January 13 - 3rd One-Day Match

January 15 - 1st T20 Match

January 16 - 2nd T20 Match

January 18 - 3rd T20 Match

Last updated: Monday March 27, 2017 7:42PM