2016-17 Under 15 National Champs: Round 6/7 Wrap
Date of Event : Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:57AM
ACT/NSW Country will face off against Queensland in the Final.

ACT/NSW Country held on to top spot on the ladder after winning their match against Tasmania at Manuka Oval. After winning the toss and choosing to bat, TAS kept their runs slowly ticking over with Sarah Breckweg and Hannah Wilson top scoring for the side. However, ACT/NSW’s tight fielding restricted TAS’s batting efforts to finish 6/50 at the end of their innings. In reply, openers Grace Dignam and Alisha Bates were able to chase down the runs in the 6th over to win by 10 wickets.


At Neil Bulger Oval, Queensland won their match against South Australia by 8 wickets. QLD sent SA into bat and claimed an early wicket. SA were able to rally and bat into the final over to be all out for 64 runs, with Darcie Brown top scoring for her side. QLD medium pacer Ruby Strange did the most damage with the ball, finishing with 2/7 from two overs. Led by Captain Charli Knott (35), QLD chased down the required runs in the 15th over. 


Harrison Oval No.1 hosted NSW Metro and Vic Country and saw plenty of runs get on the board. NSW were sent into bat and after a sluggish start, their middle order batsmen Angelina Genford (30) and Olivia Porter (44 including nine boundaries) surged the team ahead to reach 5/130 at the end of their innings. VIC’s reply started off well, with Lucy Cripps smashing 25 runs from 25 balls including three fours and a six. After Cripps departed the crease, VIC couldn’t form partnerships or runs needed for victory, with NSW going on to win by 56 runs. NSW wrist spinner Isabella Malgioglio dominated with the ball, finishing with 4/7 from just two overs.


Western Australia took on VIC Metro at Harrison Oval No.2 and enjoyed a tight tussle in the final few overs of the game. Sent in to bat, WA looked at ease at the crease. Gorgia Platten (38*) and Molly Healy (31*) formed an unbeaten 76-run partnership to push WA’s total to finish on 2/103. VIC didn’t start their reply well, finding themselves at 6/18 just after the half way mark. WA medium pacer Zoe Brightcliff did the most damage with the ball, claiming four wickets for just 14 runs from her four overs. Enter Jessica Martin (45*) and Emma Sands (29), who lifted their team to a three-wicket victory after putting on an 81-run partnership.


Round 7


NSW Metro continued its unbeaten T20 streak, securing a nine-wicket win over Western Australia at Manuka Oval. WA posted 7/103 from 20 overs after winning the toss, an innings marked with a brilliant knock from first-drop Courtney Holt. The middle-order batsman clobbered 33 run off just 17 balls in an innings streaked with four fours and two successive sixes. Danielle Armstrong led the way with the ball, claiming 3/14 off three overs. NSW Metro’s top-order then proved too strong in reply, chasing the runs in 12.1 overs one wicket down. Opening batsman Sarah Turner top-scored for the victors, blasting 45 off 42 deliveries to steer NSW Metro home.


ACT/NSW Country will arrive at Manuka Oval as undefeated side for the final tomorrow, notching a 56-run win over South Australia at Harrison No 1 Oval today. Batting first, the hosts climbed to 8/131 in 20 overs in an innings engineered by middle-order batsmen Hannah Faux (29) and Lara Graham (28). Darcie Brown (3/20) made the most inroads with the ball for SA. A collective ACT/NSW Country bowling display then restricted SA to 75. Grace Dignam (3/9) and Dharmini Chauhan (2/12) were the most effective bowlers.


VIC Country clinched a two-wicket over VIC Metro at Harrison No 2 Oval. Having won the toss, Metro made 5/103 in an innings highlighted by a 50-run stand for the fourth wicket. First-drop Tessa Flintoff plundered 41 off 49 balls, while Emma Sands struck a run-a-ball 20 at number five. Country executed a collective bowling effort. Excellent bowling from Tessa Flintoff (3/15) and sharp fielding then ensured a testing run-chase. However, a quick-fire 31 off 31 deliveries from captain Tiana Atkinson lugged Country over the line in 17.1 overs.


Queensland will face off against ACT/NSW Country after they secured a five-wicket win over Tasmania at Neil Bulger Oval.  After being sent into bat, TAS’ batsmen struggled against a rampant QLD bowling attack that limited TAS to 5/78 from 20 overs. A number of QLD’s batsmen then made handy contributions as the victors chased the runs five wickets down in 17.3 overs. Captain Charli Knott negated the new ball with class to compile 18 runs at the top of the order. Clare Scott claimed 2/8 from three overs for TAS.


ACT/NSW Country and Queensland will compete for the Cricket Australia Under 15 Female National Championships title at Manuka Oval tomorrow. In the play-offs, NSW Metro and Victoria Country will contest for third place, while Victoria Metro and Western Australia contend for fifth place. Tasmania and South Australia will also face off seventh place.


Finals Fixture

ACT / NSW Country v Queensland at Manuka Oval                         

NSW Metro v VIC Country at Chisholm No.1 Oval                            

VIC Metro v Western Australia at Kingston Oval                

Tasmania v South Australia at Canberra Grammar Oval


By Cricket ACT Comms

Last updated: Friday September 8, 2017 12:09PM