Future stars named in Australia U16s squad
Date of Event : Mon Apr 3, 2017 2:45PM
The Australia U16s side was named following the SSA 15 & Under Boys National Championships // Brody Grogan

Cricket Australia has announced an Australia Under 16s squad, following the conclusion of the School Sport Australia 15 & Under Boys National Championship in Queensland.


The 14 player squad features some of the best talent from the tournament, as selected by the Youth Selection Panel, plus four standby players.


New South Wales is the best-represented state with five players in the squad, while South Australia (three), Queensland (two), Victoria (two) and Western Australia (two) are also represented.


Australia U16s Squad


Kyle Brazell, South Australia

Jake Fraser McGurk, Victoria

Michael Herbst, Western Australia

Mac Jenkins, New South Wales

Brock Larance, New South Wales

Jet Liebke, Queensland

Ewan Nielson, Western Australia

Mitchell Pascoe, Queensland

Yash Pednekar, Victoria

Samuel Rahaley, South Australia 
Suraj Rajesh, South Australia

Tanveer Sangha, New South Wales

Hugh Sherriff, New South Wales

Brad Simpson, New South Wales


Standby players: William Collins (Tasmania), Jayden Goodwin (Western Australia), Campbell Griffiths (Victoria), William Prestwidge (Queensland)


Cricket Australia’s National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said:


“It was really pleasing to see the amount of talent on display at the championship this year, and there was some really good cricket played throughout the week.


“The selection of this team was a challenging one, as there was such a good spread of talent across all teams and plenty of competition for places. That said, we are really pleased with final result of the selection process, and the quality of talent within this Australia Under 16s squad.


“It’s also pleasing to see the diversification within this squad, with a number of players from multicultural backgrounds which is a really positive sign for Australian cricket.


“This squad will form the Cricket Australia XI for next summer’s Under 17 National Championships, and we look forward to these players testing themselves against an older age group at a higher level of competition.”


An international series for this Australia Under 16s squad is yet to be confirmed, but likely to be in early 2018.


The squad features four players from the tournament winners, NSW Green, in Brock Larance, Tanveer Sangha, Brad Simpson and captain Mac Jenkins.


NSW Green claimed a 54-run win in the final, against a NSW Magenta team featuring Hugh Sherriff.


Jenkins (32 runs), Larance (30 runs) and Sangha (3-12) all played key roles, as NSW Green made 143 before dismissing their opponents for 89.


Larance was the tournament’s leading run-scorer, finishing with 233 runs from five innings, at an average of just over 58.25, while South Australia’s Kyle Brazell and Suraj Rajesh were also among the top 10 run-scorers for the tournament.


Jenkins had the best bowling average of any player to bowl more than 10 overs, claiming nine wickets at an average of just 7.56.


He was one of the tournament’s top 10 wicket-takers, alongside Sangha and Western Australia’s Ewan Nielson.

Last updated: Friday September 8, 2017 12:11PM