U17: NSW Metro go back-to-back
Date of Event : Thu Oct 5, 2017 3:46PM
NSW Metro celebrate with the trophy // Brody Grogan

NSW Metro have gone back-to-back at the Under 17 National Championships, defeating Queensland in the tournament final at Brisbane’s Allan Border Field today.

It was a dominant performance from the NSW Metro side, who won by 141 runs.

NSW Metro captain Oliver Davies won the toss and batted first, as NSW Metro scored 6-272 off their 50 overs, before dismissing Queensland for 132 in the 29th over.

Davies (58 off 46 deliveries), Liam Scott (57 off 68) and Yuvraj Sharma (48 off 92) led the way for NSW Metro with the bat.

Fast bowler Matthew Willans was the pick of the Queensland attack, snaring 1-31 off his 10 overs.

In reply, Queensland couldn’t string partnerships together as NSW Metro picked up wickets at regular intervals.

Jacob Workman (2-19) and Tyson Lee (2-22) picked up multiple wickets, with six wicket-takers overall plus two run outs.

Harry Walker top-scored for Queensland with 29 off 44 deliveries, before being the last wicket to fall.

Last updated: Thursday November 30, 2017 10:49AM