Venues for U17 Male Champs announced
Date of Event Cricket Australia State Competitions: Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:00AM
Queensland will play host to the CA Under 17 Male National Championships //

Mackay will play host to the first week of the 2018-19 Cricket Australia Under 17 Male National Championships, proudly presented by Woolworths.


The tournament, to be played from 1 October to 11 October, will see the first four rounds of matches played in Mackay and the following four rounds played in Brisbane.


Matches in Mackay will be played at the Harrup Park complex and Magpies CC, with day-night cricket to feature at domestic Under 17 level for the first time at Harrup Park.


Cricket Australia Pathways Manager, Graham Manou, said:


“We’re really excited to be heading to Mackay for this summer’s Under 17 Male National Championships,” Manou said.


“There are some great cricket facilities in the region, and taking this event to a new location provides different conditions for our players to experience and adapt to.


“The opportunity to play Day Night matches for the first time at Under 17 level at Harrup Park is extremely exciting.


“We’ve had fantastic support from the Mackay Regional Council, Queensland Cricket and the local cricket community, and can’t wait to showcase Australia’s next generation of stars in Mackay.”


Mackay’s Harrup Park has previously hosted matches in the rebel Women’s Big Bash League, JLT Sheffield Shield and 2016 Quadrangular ‘A’ Series.


The CA Under 17 Male National Championships are an important part of the Australian Cricket Pathway, which have featured many past and present Australian stars.


Previous winners of the Player of the Tournament award include Australian representatives James Pattinson, Callum Ferguson and Ed Cowan.

Last updated: Tuesday October 2, 2018 7:13PM