Australia Under 19s squad named for Sri Lanka tour
Date of Event Cricket Australia State Competitions: Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:00AM
Player of the Tournament Keegan Oates has been named in the Australian squad // Brody Grogan

Cricket Australia (CA) has named a 14-player Australia Under 19s squad for a four-match tour of Sri Lanka.


The squad, named following the 2018-19 CA Under 19 National Championships in Adelaide, will arrive in Colombo on 30 December to play three one-day matches and one three-day match against Sri Lanka Under 19s.


Four state-contracted players feature in the squad - Victoria and Melbourne Renegades duo Will Sutherland and Zak Evans, Tasmania’s Jarrod Freeman and New South Wales’ keeper Baxter Holt.


All four also represented Australia at the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand in February.


Australia Under 19s


Iain Carlisle – New South Wales
Oliver Davies – New South Wales
Zak Evans – Victoria
Sam Fanning – New South Wales
Jarrod Freeman – Tasmania
Lachlan Hearne – New South Wales
Baxter Holt – New South Wales
Corey Hunter – Queensland
Josh Kann – Queensland
Liam Marshall – New South Wales
Keegan Oates – Tasmania
Tanveer Sangha – New South Wales
Will Sutherland – Victoria
Matthew Willans Queensland


Coach: Ryan Harris
Assistant Coach: Wade Townsend


The team has been selected by the CA Youth Selection Panel, led by National Selector and National Talent Manager Greg Chappell, in consultation with State and Territory Talent Managers.


“It was exciting to see the quality of cricket on display at the championships, and we believe this is a well-balanced squad with plenty of talent,” Chappell said.


“Many of these players have now come through the Pathway from Under 15s to Under 19s, and we are continuing to see them improve, which is a credit to themselves and their States.


“Providing our best young players with international opportunities is an essential part of the Pathway.


“This squad contains six players who have already represented Australia Under 19s, and a mix of players who are either in their final year of Under 19s cricket or will remain eligible for the next ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa in 2020.


"All are thoroughly deserving of their selection in this squad, and there are always players who are unlucky to miss selection.


“With three one-day matches and a three-day match against Sri Lanka on their home soil, this will give our squad an enormous challenge in sub-continent conditions.”


A captain has not been named, with multiple players expected to receive leadership opportunities.


Five of the top 10 run-scorers at the Under 19 Male National Championships feature in the squad, plus three of the top eight wicket-takers.


Tasmania captain Keegan Oates (430 runs at 71.67) was named Player of the Tournament and was the competition’s leading run-scorer.


NSW Metro trio Oliver Davies (392 at 65.33), Sam Fanning (370 at 74) and Baxter Holt (333 at 55.5), and Victoria Metro’s Will Sutherland (299 at 42.71) also scored heavily.


ACT/NSW Country fast bowler Iain Carlisle (15 wickets at 17.13), Victoria Metro quick Zak Evans (13 wickets at 16.62) and Queensland all-rounder Josh Kann (11 wickets at 20.73) all featured prominently with the ball.


South Australia leg-spinner Lloyd Pope – the leading wicket-taker at the Under 19 Male National Championships with 20 scalps – as well as New South Wales duo Jack Edwards and Jason Sangha, were not considered for selection due to domestic commitments.


 Australia Under 19s - Fixtures


One-Day Matches


3 January: Sri Lanka Under 19s v Australia Under 19s at P Sara Oval, Colombo
5 January: Sri Lanka Under 19s v Australia Under 19s at P Sara Oval, Colombo
7 January: Sri Lanka Under 19s v Australia Under 19s at P Sara Oval, Colombo


Three-Day Match


10-12 January: Sri Lanka Under 19s v Australia Under 19s at SSC Ground, Colombo

Last updated: Friday December 14, 2018 10:04AM