Under 15’s ready for National Championships
Date of Event : Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:20PM

Australia’s best young female cricketers will be on display when the Cricket Australia Under 15 Female National Championships begins in Canberra today.


The best junior female talent from around Australia will be on show across eight sides, with teams from ACT/NSW Country, South Australia, NSW Metro, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania, as well as Victoria who will have two teams competing: Victoria Metro and Victoria Country.


The Championships will run from February 20-26 with a combination of Twenty20 and 40 over matches deciding who will take home the trophy in 2019.


In what is essentially the beginning of the high performance pathway for these very talented players, all will be out to impress the National YouthSelectors who will attend the games.


High Performance Coach Leah Poulton said:


“The Under 15 National Championships is the breeding ground for the next generation of Australian stars.


“Each year we see the arrival of new talent, players who burst on the scene who until then may have been unknown outside their state programs. From my perspective it’s the most exciting tournament of the summer.”


At the end of the Championships a squad of 24-26 will be selected to attend the Under 15 Talent Camp. This camp takes place at the Bupa National Cricket Centre when at the completion of the camp a squad of 14 will be chosen to compete as the CAXI in the Under 18 National Championships. The rationale behind this initiative is to stretch young talented players against older, more experienced opposition.


From last year’s Under 15 Talent Camp Hayley Silver Holmes, Darcie Brown, Charli Knott and Phoebe Litchfield have all been selected in the upcoming Australian Under 19 series against New Zealand.


Click here for full fixtures


Team Lists


ACT/NSW Country: Isabella Cameron, Emilia Kavanagh, Maddison Mcguigan, Clare Levings, Georgie Martin, Holly Simmons, Claire Mcguirk, Tara Rudd, Amy Kruezberger, Katie Letcher, Jessica Mudiliar, Dani Baker, Clare Webber.


NSW Metro: Jade Allen, Lauren Kua, Alice Whelan, Olivia Maxwell, Hayley Elliot, Claire Moore, Frankie Nicklin, Sinduja Sureshkumar, Sophie Martland, Charlotte Camburn, Zoya Thakur, Ananaya Sharma, Ella Briscoe.


Queensland: Ryleigh Wootherspoon, Lucinda Bourke, Macy Hauser, Summer-Rose Briskey, Sianna Ginger, Meg Mettam, Taylor Stumer, Zoe Valencic, Julia Cavanough, Holly Barr, Gabrielle Lockwood, Mikayla Wrigley, Ella Anderson.


South Australia: Lucy Bowering, Abbie Cawse, Cate Dunemann, Jasmine Earl, Emmerson Filsell, Paris Hall, Kaitlyn Heath, Gemma Kennedy, Amy Peterson, Chloe Rosenzweig, Caitlin Wendland, Kasey Wendland, Ella Wilson.


Victoria Metro: Simran Gandhi, Maddie White, Kristy Abulrajah, Haylee Landi, Olivia Henry, Ella Hayward, Annency Homberg, Alexandra Elliot, Erin Carroll, Grace Thompson, Jasmine Fleming, Ashling O’Farrell, Ellen Williams.


Victoria Country: Tahlia Meier, Madeline Green, Ruby O’Dwyer, Jaide Anthony, Jasmine Nevins, Georgia Gall, Grace Jones, Abby Christie, Rhys Mckenna, Milly Illingworth, Rachel Paton, Paris Bowdler, Tia Davidge.


Western Australia: Sienna Ryan, Jean Mckinlay, Ella Stewart, Evelyn Brock, Tyler Jones, Gemma Evans, Samanatha Pope, Poppy Stockwell, Chloe Ainsworth, Monica Rallabhandi, Lauren Thompson, Rebecca McGrath, Indiana Squires.


Tasmania: Jezrelle Gray, Sara Wilkin, Maddison Brooks, Taylor Brooks, Emma Roberts, Alice Mclauchlan, Melodie Armstrong, Cassie Mcloughlin, Kate Sheriff, Laura Scott, Charlotte Layton, Hannah Powe, Matilda Waddington.         


Last updated: Wednesday February 20, 2019 2:33PM