U15: NSW Metro claim under-15 title
Date of Event Cricket Australia State Competitions: Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:22PM

The last day of the Under 15 Female National Championships featured the final between NSW Metro v ACT/NSW Country and three other games.


NSW Metro finished the round-robin games undefeated and were the for team of the competition, so it was no surprise that they chose to bat first. Claire Moore’s 58 batting at first drop was outstanding in the way she built her innings and was patient early on. Wickets at regular intervals from Deni Baker 3/13 off eight overs, there wasn’t any continuity throughout the innings. Zoya Thakur (27) provided some late hitting though couldn’t help batting out the allocated overs as NSW Metro were bowled out 141 off 36 overs.


ACT/NSW Country did not get off to a great start losing their top three in the first few overs to be on the back foot immediately. A very patient innings by Tara Rudd (38 off 85 balls) kept her side in the contest for most of the run chase though when Rudd was dismissed by Lauren Kua the collapse started. Losing their last five wickets for just 22 runs ACT/NSW Country fell short of the target by 25 runs. Lauren Kua was instrumental in NSW Metro’s victory taking 4/14 off eight overs which, allowed the pressure to never let up on the ACT/NSW Country batters.


Third vs fourth was a battle of the Victorians as Vic Country went up against Vic Metro for bragging rights. Vic Country won the toss and elected to bat first with yesterday’s centurion Tahlia Meier falling cheaply for three. The top order of Vic Country has been fantastic so far this tournament though today they struggled against the Vic Metro’s strong bowling attack. Rhys McKenna top scored with 31 and Georgia Gall was prolific in her 25 before been run out, which all but ended the chances of posting a 150 plus total. Eventually Vic Country were bowled out for 125 in the 38th over.


In reply, Vic Metro were never troubled as Ella Hayward’s 52 and Haylee Landi’s 41 guided them to a comfortable eight wicket win. Wickets were picked up from Milly Illingworth and Rachel Paton From Vic Country.


South Australia looked to finish their Championships on a positive note as they faced Queensland. South Australia’s wicket keeper Paris Hall’s unbeaten 77 led her team to a competitive total of 7/174 off 40 overs. Queensland’s Meg Mettam was the best of the bowlers in taking 3/20 off six overs.


Queensland, in reply were in control for most of the run chase to successfully reach to target of 175 with three overs remaining. Sianna Ginger’s unbeaten 72 earned her player of the match award as her innings single-handedly got her team across the line. Kasey Wendland ended her Championships taking 2/12 though wasn’t able to get support from her other bowlers as eventually the Queenslanders reached the target with seven wickets to spare.


The battle for seventh place was between Western Australia and Tasmania and it proved out to be a one-sided contest. Western Australia’s innings was jam packed as they posted 201 though were bowled out with 57 more deliveries to face. Lauren Thompson’s 51 at the top of the innings laid the platform for the rest of her side. Tasmania’s 66 extras clearly hurt them with their bowling not as accurate as it has been in previous games.


Unfortunately, Tasmania’s batters were no match for the Western Australian bowlers as they were bowled out for 89 in the 20th over. Kate Sherriff’s 18 was the highest score from a Tasmanian in the run chase though was in vain as the girls from the West won by 112 runs.

Award Winners


Player of the Championships: Ella Hayward (Victoria Metro)

Leading Run Scorer: Tahlia Meier (Victoria Country)

Leading Wicket Taker: Zoe Valencic (Queensland)

Most Dismissals by a Fielder: Mikayla Wrigley (Queensland)

Spirit of Cricket: ACT/NSW Country

Last updated: Wednesday February 27, 2019 4:52PM